AWS Thinkbox Discussion Forums

Cinema 4d and Vray 5

HI everybody,

I am completely new to Deadline and really hope, that someone could answer me some questions, so that I will understand the whole process a little bit better.

I would like to achieve the following set up: Having one computer as render server and a few computers as clients in one network. My workstation should be able to taken away from the network so that it is not involved in the rendering process.

So far I installed on now computer the Deadline Repository, Worker etc.

So it would be great, if you could help me with the following questions:

1. I am rendering with cinema 4d and vray 5 with mainly using DR. As far as I understood, that shouldn’t be a problem, should it?

2. Do I need any extra licenses for my server or the clients? So far I have one cinema 4D license for my workstation and for every render node a vray license.

3. Is it possible to send from my cinema 4d, which is on my workstation, the job to the render server?
    And if yes, I understood, that I have to install in my cinema 4d the “DeadlineC4DClient.pyp”. Is this right?
    Do I have to install the “Repository” as well on my workstation or how does it work?

4. Do I have to install the Deadline client on every render node, although it is using DR rendering?

It would be great, if you could help me to understand the whole process a little bit better.

Have a nice Sunday and thanks a lot for your help.

1. I’d test C4D with V-Ray DR outside of Deadline so you know it works ok
  2. You need render licenses for V-Ray (sounds like you have these) and Deadline (for every DR machine)
  3. No, unless you submit Cinema4D commandline job with V-Ray (requires C4D CMD licenses)
  4. If you want to submit via Deadline then yes, it needs the ‘Worker’ running on the machine to be able to launch the DR