Should Path Mapping auto-replace forward-back slashes?

Discussion and Support of Deadline, the Render Management System
Geordie
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2017 4:57 pm

Should Path Mapping auto-replace forward-back slashes?

Postby Geordie » Thu Apr 13, 2017 4:18 pm

Hi! Running DL 8.0.13.

Just ran a C4D job where no errors reported but no files were written to the output path o the network. All slaves are Windows and job was submitted from a Mac.

I've setup a simple path mapping:
Replace Path: /Volumes/
Windows Path: \\networkDrive\

The only thing I can see in the log which might be causing this is:
2017-04-13 13:23:24: 0: CheckPathMapping: Swapped "/Volumes/folder/tikviz/speed-test" with "\\networkDrive\folder/tikviz/speed-test"

So it's working but I thought DL also took care of the back/forward slash replacement.

From the docs:
http://docs.thinkboxsoftware.com/produc ... %20mapping
"By default, Deadline just uses regular string replacement to swap out the paths. In this case, Deadline takes care of the path separators (‘/’ and ‘\’) automatically."

Am I doing something wrong or do I need to use regex?

Thanks!
G

eamsler
Posts: 1501
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: Should Path Mapping auto-replace forward-back slashes?

Postby eamsler » Mon Apr 17, 2017 9:15 am

It may be that we missed some slash mangling there. C4D batch missed a few other path mapping niceties that have been logged, mainly if the destination path is blank, don't do a replacement.

For this, I think we're missing the slash replacement calls. I'll double check and log it as a bug, but for the time being, on Windows Vista and higher, Windows only cares about those first three slashes on UNC paths, so I'm not sure this is the cause of the problem (though it may be).

I guess a good sanity check would be to make sure that UNC path isn't asking for credentials when users connect.
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg

eamsler
Posts: 1501
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: Should Path Mapping auto-replace forward-back slashes?

Postby eamsler » Mon Apr 17, 2017 12:22 pm

Well, that was quick. We got the fix in place in the 9.0 branch, so you should see it in SP2. If not, feel free to chase me here.
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg

samohare
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:16 pm

Re: Should Path Mapping auto-replace forward-back slashes?

Postby samohare » Wed May 17, 2017 4:11 pm

Hey,

I'm having this same problem, trying to submit a job from a Windows machine to Media Encoder on a Mac. The start of the path replaces correctly, but the slashes in the rest of the path don't.

Win: \\Server\Share\folder\folder\file.
Mac: /Volumes/Share/folder\folder\file.

Media Encoder starts up but just hangs there, Deadline doesn't report an error, think's it's rendering.

Deadline 9.0.3.0

User avatar
MikeOwen
Posts: 3450
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 5:00 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Should Path Mapping auto-replace forward-back slashes?

Postby MikeOwen » Thu May 18, 2017 6:17 am

Hi,
See attached patch for Media Encoder. Unzip and overwrite the same named files in your repo. (Take a backup first, just in case).
Let us know if that helps?
ame-patch-18-05-2017.zip
(19.53 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
Mike Owen
Developer
Thinkbox Software UK

User avatar
MikeOwen
Posts: 3450
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 5:00 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Should Path Mapping auto-replace forward-back slashes?

Postby MikeOwen » Thu May 18, 2017 7:22 am

EDIT: Fixed some edge cases found during further testing (unrelated to your issue), so here is another patch (ignore the first patch):

ame-patch-18-05-2017-patch2.zip
(20.09 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
Mike Owen
Developer
Thinkbox Software UK

samohare
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:16 pm

Re: Should Path Mapping auto-replace forward-back slashes?

Postby samohare » Thu May 18, 2017 11:56 am

Hi Mike,

Thanks for looking at this. I replaced these files in the repository with the second patch you posted and submitted a new job, but there's no effect, getting the same result as before.

Let me know if I can get you more info.

Sam

User avatar
MikeOwen
Posts: 3450
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 5:00 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Should Path Mapping auto-replace forward-back slashes?

Postby MikeOwen » Thu May 18, 2017 11:57 am

Can you post the job log report / Slave log from the AME job?
Mike Owen
Developer
Thinkbox Software UK

samohare
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:16 pm

Re: Should Path Mapping auto-replace forward-back slashes?

Postby samohare » Thu May 18, 2017 4:46 pm

Here's the slave log:

Code: Select all

2017-05-18 12:51:07:  Scheduler Thread - Seconds before next job scan: 7
2017-05-18 12:51:15:  Scheduler - Performing Job scan on Primary Pools with scheduling order Pool, Priority, First-in First-out
2017-05-18 12:51:15:  Scheduler - Successfully dequeued 1 task(s).  Returning.
2017-05-18 12:51:15:  Scheduler - Returning limit stubs not in use.
2017-05-18 12:51:15:  0: Got task!
2017-05-18 12:51:15:  0: Plugin will be reloaded because a new job has been loaded.
2017-05-18 12:51:15:  0: Loading Job's Plugin timeout is Disabled
2017-05-18 12:51:16:  0: Loaded plugin MediaEncoder
2017-05-18 12:51:17:  0: Executing plugin command of type 'Sync Files for Job'
2017-05-18 12:51:17:  0: All job files are already synchronized
2017-05-18 12:51:17:  0: Plugin MediaEncoder was already synchronized.
2017-05-18 12:51:17:  0: Done executing plugin command of type 'Sync Files for Job'
2017-05-18 12:51:17:  0: Executing plugin command of type 'Initialize Plugin'
2017-05-18 12:51:17:  0: INFO: Executing plugin script '/Users/producer/Library/Application Support/Thinkbox/Deadline9/slave/imac-3/plugins/591dcc02d18df12c14548e83/MediaEncoder.py'
2017-05-18 12:51:17:  0: INFO: Media Encoder Plugin Initializing...
2017-05-18 12:51:17:  0: INFO: About: Adobe Media Encoder Plugin for Deadline
2017-05-18 12:51:17:  0: INFO: Render Job As User disabled, running as current user 'producer'
2017-05-18 12:51:17:  0: INFO: The job's environment will be merged with the current environment before rendering
2017-05-18 12:51:17:  0: Done executing plugin command of type 'Initialize Plugin'
2017-05-18 12:51:17:  0: Start Job timeout is disabled.
2017-05-18 12:51:17:  0: Task timeout is disabled.
2017-05-18 12:51:17:  0: Loaded job: AME Final Test [Table_45_DC_v01_UNC_TEST.mov] (591dcc02d18df12c14548e83)
2017-05-18 12:51:17:  0: Executing plugin command of type 'Start Job'
2017-05-18 12:51:17:  0: INFO: Media Encoder Exe Name: Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015
2017-05-18 12:51:17:  0: INFO: Existing Adobe Media Encoder Process: Do Nothing
2017-05-18 12:51:17:  0: INFO: Auto Shutdown Adobe Media Encoder: True
2017-05-18 12:51:17:  0: INFO: Checking for an existing AME Web Service at 192.168.0.66:8080...
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: Unable to connect to an existing AME Web Service at 192.168.0.66:8080.
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: Starting AME Web Service...
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: Executable: /Applications/Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015/Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015.app/Contents/ame_webservice_console.app/Contents/MacOS/ame_webservice_agent
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: Host: 192.168.0.66
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: Port: 8080
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: Starting monitored managed process Media Encoder Web Service
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: Media Encoder Web Service starting...
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: Stdout Redirection Enabled: True
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: Asynchronous Stdout Enabled: False
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: Stdout Handling Enabled: True
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: Popup Handling Enabled: True
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: QT Popup Handling Enabled: False
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: WindowsForms10.Window.8.app.* Popup Handling Enabled: False
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: Using Process Tree: True
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: Hiding DOS Window: True
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: Creating New Console: False
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: Running as user: producer
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: Executable: "/Applications/Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015/Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015.app/Contents/ame_webservice_console.app/Contents/MacOS/ame_webservice_agent"
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: Argument:
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: Full Command: "/Applications/Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015/Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015.app/Contents/ame_webservice_console.app/Contents/MacOS/ame_webservice_agent"
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: Startup Directory: "/Applications/Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015/Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015.app/Contents/ame_webservice_console.app/Contents/MacOS"
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: Process Priority: BelowNormal
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: Process Affinity: default
2017-05-18 12:51:18:  0: INFO: Process is now running
2017-05-18 12:51:40:  0: STDOUT: Launching web services.  Use --help for options.
2017-05-18 12:51:40:  0: STDOUT: Starting HTTP service on ip 192.168.0.66, port 8080
2017-05-18 12:51:40:  0: STDOUT: History will be retained for the most recent 100 jobs.
2017-05-18 12:51:40:  0: STDOUT: Creating AMEServer
2017-05-18 12:51:40:  0: STDOUT: Creating AMEServer - Timeout
2017-05-18 12:51:40:  0: STDOUT: Creating AMEServer - Succeeded
2017-05-18 12:51:41:  0: INFO: AME Web Service started.
2017-05-18 12:51:41:  0: Done executing plugin command of type 'Start Job'
2017-05-18 12:51:41:  0: Plugin rendering frame(s): 0
2017-05-18 12:51:41:  0: Executing plugin command of type 'Render Task'
2017-05-18 12:51:41:  0: CheckPathMapping: Swapped "M:\test\stilltest\Table_45_DC_v01_UNC_TEST.mov" with "/Volumes/Projects/test\stilltest\Table_45_DC_v01_UNC_TEST.mov"
2017-05-18 12:51:41:  0: CheckPathMapping: Swapped "M:\test\stilltest\Table_45_DC_v01_ProRes_TEST.mov" with "/Volumes/Projects/test\stilltest\Table_45_DC_v01_ProRes_TEST.mov"
2017-05-18 12:51:41:  0: CheckPathMapping: Swapped "M:\test\stilltest\QT_ProRes_422HQ_1080p_23.976.epr" with "/Volumes/Projects/test\stilltest\QT_ProRes_422HQ_1080p_23.976.epr"
2017-05-18 12:51:51:  Connecting to Slave log: imac-3
Success


Interestingly I cannot connect to the slave log from my windows machine. Not sure if that's a networking thing here or not. The job doesn't generate a job log at all, it just hangs on Starting Up.

Sam

User avatar
MikeOwen
Posts: 3450
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 5:00 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Should Path Mapping auto-replace forward-back slashes?

Postby MikeOwen » Fri May 19, 2017 3:07 am

It looks like AME is failing to start-up. Is AME already running on this machine? I tested using CC 2017 and everything is fine. Perhaps, this is a CC 2015 issue. Can you try ensuring all instances of AME are already closed and also set the MediaEncoder plugin config setting: "Handle Existing AME Process" to either setting, just not the "Do Nothing" option, to see if that makes any difference here:
http://docs.thinkboxsoftware.com/produc ... figuration
Mike Owen
Developer
Thinkbox Software UK


Return to “Thinkbox Software - Deadline”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: eamsler and 1 guest