Should Path Mapping auto-replace forward-back slashes?

Discussion and Support of Deadline, the Render Management System
samohare
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:16 pm

Re: Should Path Mapping auto-replace forward-back slashes?

Postby samohare » Fri May 19, 2017 2:08 pm

So yes this works with 2017! I had set it on Fail on Existing Process to start with, and had changed it for testing.

Neither worked before the patch, and 2015 still fails, but 2017 is working. Incidentally, it still displays the slashes incorrectly in the slave log on the mac, but it reads and writes the files without issue.

I can post logs from 2015 if you are interested.

Thanks,
Sam

User avatar
MikeOwen
Posts: 3492
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 5:00 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Should Path Mapping auto-replace forward-back slashes?

Postby MikeOwen » Fri May 19, 2017 2:15 pm

I think the log message when it swaps paths via CheckPathMapping can be misleading. If the next few print statements for the various file paths are correct then you are good to go. Feel free to share both logs if you like. I guess something on the Adobe side is broken in CC 2015. Is that version patched to the latest SP? I will have to ask around if anyone has this version.
Mike Owen
Solutions Architect
Thinkbox / AWS

samohare
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:16 pm

Re: Should Path Mapping auto-replace forward-back slashes?

Postby samohare » Mon May 22, 2017 3:58 pm

For 2015:

AME does start up when the job comes in, you can see it appear on the screen. It just doesn't get any further than that. Deadline will throw an error if the software is running, saying it's failing on an existing process, but it never manages to close the AME process when shutting down the slave, and or seemingly interact with it when its up, so it just sits there. I haven't had it fail gracefully yet, AME always stays up even when cancelling the job by hand or closing the slave locally.

Here is the log with the Fail on Existing Process on, but with AME closed to start with. This shows it starting up, and at the end the network fails because the computer went to sleep from being unused for too long.

Code: Select all

2017-05-22 11:47:15:  0: Got task!
2017-05-22 11:47:15:  0: Plugin will be reloaded because a new job has been loaded.
2017-05-22 11:47:15:  0: Loading Job's Plugin timeout is Disabled
2017-05-22 11:47:17:  0: Loaded plugin MediaEncoder
2017-05-22 11:47:17:  0: Executing plugin command of type 'Sync Files for Job'
2017-05-22 11:47:17:  0: All job files are already synchronized
2017-05-22 11:47:17:  0: Plugin MediaEncoder was already synchronized.
2017-05-22 11:47:17:  0: Done executing plugin command of type 'Sync Files for Job'
2017-05-22 11:47:17:  0: Executing plugin command of type 'Initialize Plugin'
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Executing plugin script '/Users/producer/Library/Application Support/Thinkbox/Deadline9/slave/imac-3/plugins/5923077dd18df1521411a8e6/MediaEncoder.py'
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Media Encoder Plugin Initializing...
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: About: Adobe Media Encoder Plugin for Deadline
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Render Job As User disabled, running as current user 'producer'
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: The job's environment will be merged with the current environment before rendering
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: Done executing plugin command of type 'Initialize Plugin'
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: Start Job timeout is disabled.
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: Task timeout is disabled.
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: Loaded job: Test Again [Table_45_DC_v01_UNC_TEST.mov] (5923077dd18df1521411a8e6)
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: Executing plugin command of type 'Start Job'
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Media Encoder Exe Name: Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Existing Adobe Media Encoder Process: Fail On Existing Process
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Auto Shutdown Adobe Media Encoder: True
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Checking for an existing AME Web Service at 192.168.0.66:8080...
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Unable to connect to an existing AME Web Service at 192.168.0.66:8080.
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Starting AME Web Service...
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Executable: /Applications/Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015/Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015.app/Contents/ame_webservice_console.app/Contents/MacOS/ame_webservice_agent
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Host: 192.168.0.66
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Port: 8080
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Starting monitored managed process Media Encoder Web Service
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Media Encoder Web Service starting...
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Stdout Redirection Enabled: True
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Asynchronous Stdout Enabled: False
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Stdout Handling Enabled: True
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Popup Handling Enabled: True
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: QT Popup Handling Enabled: False
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: WindowsForms10.Window.8.app.* Popup Handling Enabled: False
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Using Process Tree: True
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Hiding DOS Window: True
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Creating New Console: False
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Running as user: producer
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Executable: "/Applications/Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015/Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015.app/Contents/ame_webservice_console.app/Contents/MacOS/ame_webservice_agent"
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Argument:
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Full Command: "/Applications/Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015/Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015.app/Contents/ame_webservice_console.app/Contents/MacOS/ame_webservice_agent"
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Startup Directory: "/Applications/Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015/Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015.app/Contents/ame_webservice_console.app/Contents/MacOS"
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Process Priority: BelowNormal
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Process Affinity: default
2017-05-22 11:47:18:  0: INFO: Process is now running
2017-05-22 11:47:32:  0: STDOUT: Launching web services.  Use --help for options.
2017-05-22 11:47:32:  0: STDOUT: Starting HTTP service on ip 192.168.0.66, port 8080
2017-05-22 11:47:32:  0: STDOUT: History will be retained for the most recent 100 jobs.
2017-05-22 11:47:32:  0: STDOUT: Creating AMEServer
2017-05-22 11:47:32:  0: STDOUT: Creating AMEServer - Succeeded
2017-05-22 11:47:32:  0: INFO: AME Web Service started.
2017-05-22 11:47:32:  0: Done executing plugin command of type 'Start Job'
2017-05-22 11:47:32:  0: Plugin rendering frame(s): 0
2017-05-22 11:47:33:  0: Executing plugin command of type 'Render Task'
2017-05-22 11:47:33:  0: CheckPathMapping: Swapped "M:\test\stilltest\Table_45_DC_v01_UNC_TEST.mov" with "/Volumes/Projects/test\stilltest\Table_45_DC_v01_UNC_TEST.mov"
2017-05-22 11:47:33:  0: CheckPathMapping: Swapped "M:\test\stilltest\Table_45_DC_v01_ProRes_TEST.mov" with "/Volumes/Projects/test\stilltest\Table_45_DC_v01_ProRes_TEST.mov"
2017-05-22 11:47:33:  0: CheckPathMapping: Swapped "M:\test\stilltest\QT_ProRes_422HQ_1080p_23.976.epr" with "/Volumes/Projects/test\stilltest\QT_ProRes_422HQ_1080p_23.976.epr"
2017-05-22 13:10:23:  Error occurred while updating network settings: An unexpected error occurred while interacting with the database (192.168.0.3:27090):
2017-05-22 13:10:23:  Network subsystem is down (System.Net.Sockets.SocketException)


Here's a job report from when AME is running when it tries to start, and it fails as expected:

Code: Select all

=======================================================
Error
=======================================================
Error: Fail On Existing Process is enabled, and a process 'Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015' with pid '575' exists! AME Web Service only works if Media Encoder application is not already running.
  at Deadline.Plugins.PluginWrapper.StartJob (System.String& outMessage, FranticX.Processes.ManagedProcess+AbortLevel& abortLevel) [0x0006c] in <92164420c75542ffabe6302e38083560>:0

=======================================================
Type
=======================================================
RenderPluginException

=======================================================
Stack Trace
=======================================================
  at Deadline.Plugins.SandboxedPlugin.a (Deadline.Net.DeadlineMessage A_0) [0x0021c] in <92164420c75542ffabe6302e38083560>:0
  at Deadline.Plugins.SandboxedPlugin.StartJob (Deadline.Jobs.Job job) [0x0006c] in <92164420c75542ffabe6302e38083560>:0
  at Deadline.Slaves.SlaveRenderThread.a (Deadline.IO.TaskLogWriter A_0) [0x003ec] in <92164420c75542ffabe6302e38083560>:0

=======================================================
Log
=======================================================
2017-05-18 12:37:14:  0: Plugin will be reloaded because a new job has been loaded.
2017-05-18 12:37:14:  0: Loading Job's Plugin timeout is Disabled
2017-05-18 12:37:15:  0: Loaded plugin MediaEncoder
2017-05-18 12:37:15:  0: Executing plugin command of type 'Sync Files for Job'
2017-05-18 12:37:15:  0: All job files are already synchronized
2017-05-18 12:37:15:  0: Synchronizing Plugin MediaEncoder from /Volumes/Projects/00 DeadlineRepository9/plugins/MediaEncoder took: 0 seconds
2017-05-18 12:37:15:  0: Done executing plugin command of type 'Sync Files for Job'
2017-05-18 12:37:15:  0: Executing plugin command of type 'Initialize Plugin'
2017-05-18 12:37:15:  0: INFO: Executing plugin script '/Users/producer/Library/Application Support/Thinkbox/Deadline9/slave/imac-3/plugins/591dcc02d18df12c14548e83/MediaEncoder.py'
2017-05-18 12:37:16:  0: INFO: Media Encoder Plugin Initializing...
2017-05-18 12:37:16:  0: INFO: About: Adobe Media Encoder Plugin for Deadline
2017-05-18 12:37:16:  0: INFO: Render Job As User disabled, running as current user 'producer'
2017-05-18 12:37:16:  0: INFO: The job's environment will be merged with the current environment before rendering
2017-05-18 12:37:16:  0: Done executing plugin command of type 'Initialize Plugin'
2017-05-18 12:37:16:  0: Start Job timeout is disabled.
2017-05-18 12:37:16:  0: Task timeout is disabled.
2017-05-18 12:37:16:  0: Loaded job: AME Final Test [Table_45_DC_v01_UNC_TEST.mov] (591dcc02d18df12c14548e83)
2017-05-18 12:37:16:  0: Executing plugin command of type 'Start Job'
2017-05-18 12:37:16:  0: INFO: Media Encoder Exe Name: Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015
2017-05-18 12:37:16:  0: INFO: Existing Adobe Media Encoder Process: Fail On Existing Process
2017-05-18 12:37:17:  0: WARNING: Found existing 'Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015' process
2017-05-18 12:37:17:  0: Done executing plugin command of type 'Start Job'
2017-05-18 12:37:17:  0: An exception occurred: Error: Fail On Existing Process is enabled, and a process 'Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015' with pid '575' exists! AME Web Service only works if Media Encoder application is not already running.
2017-05-18 12:37:17:    at Deadline.Plugins.PluginWrapper.StartJob (System.String& outMessage, FranticX.Processes.ManagedProcess+AbortLevel& abortLevel) [0x0006c] in <92164420c75542ffabe6302e38083560>:0  (Deadline.Plugins.RenderPluginException)

=======================================================
Details
=======================================================
Date: 05/18/2017 12:37:19
Frames: 0
Elapsed Time: 00:00:00:07
Job Submit Date: 05/18/2017 12:29:53
Job User: sam
Average RAM Usage: 4263758336 (50%)
Peak RAM Usage: 4275654656 (50%)
Average CPU Usage: 44%
Peak CPU Usage: 68%
Used CPU Clocks (x10^6 cycles): 9445
Total CPU Clocks (x10^6 cycles): 21465

=======================================================
Slave Information
=======================================================
Slave Name: imac-3
Version: v9.0.3.0 Release (c5f056bb6)
Operating System: Mac OS X 10.11.5
Machine User: producer
IP Address: 192.168.0.66
MAC Address: 20:c9:d0:32:ed:2f
CPU Architecture: x86_64
CPUs: 4
CPU Usage: 2%
Memory Usage: 4.0 GB / 8.0 GB (49%)
Free Disk Space: 716.623 GB
Video Card: AMD Radeon HD 6770M



As for the versions - there is both a 2015 and a 2015.3. Both are installed. I tried editing the plugin setup to run 2015.3 on the mac, as so:
From: /Applications/Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015/Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015.app/Contents/ame_webservice_console.app/Contents/MacOS/ame_webservice_agent
To: /Applications/Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015/Adobe Media Encoder CC 2015.3.app/Contents/ame_webservice_console.app/Contents/MacOS/ame_webservice_agent

Without success. It might be happier if the older one is removed, I can try that.

eamsler
Posts: 1672
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: Should Path Mapping auto-replace forward-back slashes?

Postby eamsler » Tue May 23, 2017 10:23 am

Failing to shut things down was an issue in 9.0.0 to 9.0.2 actually. If you're not already, can you upgrade?

The issue was that we weren't properly calling EndJob() in the script, so any cleanup that should have happened wasn't being done.

You can use the link that you have onhand or e-mail thinkbox-sales@amazon.com or support@thinkboxsoftware.com for that. The usual minor upgrade rules apply.
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg

samohare
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:16 pm

Re: Should Path Mapping auto-replace forward-back slashes?

Postby samohare » Tue May 23, 2017 1:54 pm

Hi Edwin,

We're on 9.0.3.0.

Sam

eamsler
Posts: 1672
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: Should Path Mapping auto-replace forward-back slashes?

Postby eamsler » Wed May 24, 2017 9:36 am

Hmm. The good news is that I learned that the issue was not that EndJob isn't called (that's by design). It turns out that if the task or job is cancelled, we should be using an additional callback to clean things up. I'll open an issue for the script to get fixed there. Sorry for the mis-information before.
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg


Return to “Thinkbox Software - Deadline”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bobo and 1 guest