SI script issue

Discussion and Support of Deadline, the Render Management System
mirkoj
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:52 am

SI script issue

Postby mirkoj » Fri Apr 21, 2017 2:29 am

I've installed submission script for SI, it fires up normally but clicking on submit don't do anything at all.
Other scripts works fine, and also this one works on SI on another computer.
I was thinking to go in remove all script parts from current installation and run it again if that could help just couldn't find everything that installer puts in to remove from SI and then to run installer again.
Short version to clean up submitter script from SI and do clean install.

eamsler
Posts: 1827
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: SI script issue

Postby eamsler » Fri Apr 21, 2017 10:27 am

SI = SoftImage aka XSI?

I'll see if I can test, but which version of Deadline are you on?
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg

mirkoj
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:52 am

Re: SI script issue

Postby mirkoj » Fri Apr 21, 2017 1:06 pm

9.0.1.1 at the moment.
But the thing is it is working on other computers. Just don't fire up on this one.
So figured to clean it up and try installing submission script again just to remove all traces of it first

mirkoj
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:52 am

Re: SI script issue

Postby mirkoj » Sun Apr 23, 2017 3:16 am

Ok my main machine went nuts last night so reseted win10 completely, all new installations now.
And again same issue.
To put it again, Maya and Houdini scripts are working fine.
Only Softimage one is not working.
It fires up, all settings are there, concurrent tasks and whole menu.
Just after clicking Submit to Deadline from script window it does nothing. Button is pressed but absolutely nothing happens.

Thinking to try manually putting all Softimage script files where are needed to try that out?

eamsler
Posts: 1827
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: SI script issue

Postby eamsler » Mon Apr 24, 2017 10:58 am

I'm sure there's some exception being thrown inside the submission script. I'm just rusty enough with SoftImage that I don't remember if it has a Python console to speak of.

After a bit of digging, it doesn't seem to be the case. I'll continue looking to see how we debug this kind of thing.

I should have asked this before, but are you using XSI 2015? I have to assume it is, but I'm just making sure if I ask the integration team to take a look that they're using the right one.
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg

mirkoj
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:52 am

Re: SI script issue

Postby mirkoj » Mon Apr 24, 2017 11:06 am

Yes softimage 2015 sp2

And it is really weird because it is fresh win install, fresh si install, same process as always and suddenly it is not working any more, but on other machines all good.

One difference is that this particular machine is assessing repository over proxy, but so are maya and houdini as well and they are working even on this machine, only XSI plugin is not.

User avatar
MikeOwen
Posts: 3512
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 5:00 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: SI script issue

Postby MikeOwen » Mon Apr 24, 2017 12:12 pm

After clicking submit in XSI and nothing happens, please open the "script editor/console" window in XSI and share the full contents of the console as it should contain an exception message/stacktrace.
Mike Owen
Solutions Architect
Thinkbox / AWS

mirkoj
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:52 am

Re: SI script issue

Postby mirkoj » Wed Apr 26, 2017 1:26 am

This is what I get when I start script and when deadline GUI appears:

' INFO : ['none', 'none', 'gpuoven', 'gpuoven']
' INFO : Script file: Error: Cannot create "C:\Users\mirko\AppData\Local\Thinkbox\Deadline9\cache\LGRDoVk6qJgqUizc3W1WSY6ujLY\submission\Softimage\Main\SoftimageToDeadlineLogic.py" because a file or directory with the same name already exists. (System.IO.IOException)
' INFO : Script Logic File Not Found

But nothing else appears when clicking Submit to Deadline after that.
Attachments
2017-04-26_082622.jpg
2017-04-26_082622.jpg (183.6 KiB) Viewed 137 times

User avatar
MikeOwen
Posts: 3512
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 5:00 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: SI script issue

Postby MikeOwen » Wed Apr 26, 2017 4:28 am

Hi,
Please can you try the following:

1. Please open up Deadline Monitor or any other Deadline client app on this troublesome machine and validate via the "Help -> About" dialog that you are indeed running 9.0.1.1 on this particaulr machine. If not, please uninstall and reinstall the Deadline client software on this one machine.

2. Do the following:
(i) Ensure ALL Deadline apps are closed and the machine has been rebooted.
(ii) Please navigate to this directory: "C:\Users\mirko\AppData\Local\Thinkbox\Deadline9\cache\" and delete everything under this "cache" directory.
(iii) Open up XSI and try again. Any different error message in Script Console in XSI now?
Mike Owen
Solutions Architect
Thinkbox / AWS

mirkoj
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:52 am

Re: SI script issue

Postby mirkoj » Fri Apr 28, 2017 11:36 am

all slaves and repository are updated ro 9.0.20 100%
And this is fresh install so definitely good version.

Cleared cache beore as well didn't help but I didn't get message so here it is now:

' INFO : Script file: Error: Cannot create "C:\Users\mirko\AppData\Local\Thinkbox\Deadline9\cache\LGRDoVk6qJgqUizc3W1WSY6ujLY\submission\Softimage\Main\SoftimageToDeadlineLogic.py" because a file or directory with the same name already exists. (System.IO.IOException)
' INFO : Script Logic File Not Found

And I did delete cache folder it got created as soon as I fired up XSI :)
It delete all folders again and there are all those .py and .pyc scripts in there again

sry for bugging but it is really weird.. gonna try reinstalling client all again.


edit:
Weird. Now it seems that this other machine also on proxy is not submitting as well.
Could it be some issue with softimage submit script and being on proxy repository?
Just tested machine that is not on proxy but on local repository and it works fine.
Now thinking I'm not sure but it could be that issue appears after upgrading to 9.0.20 after being on version before... can't be 100% sure but there is pretty high possibility. Any chance for issue between two versions?
Will try on all machines with local proxy and again with all on remote proxy just to confirm difference.

# INFO : Script file: Error: Cannot create "C:\Users\mirkoj\AppData\Local\Thinkbox\Deadline9\cache\LGRDoVk6qJgqUizc3W1WSY6ujLY\submission\Softimage\Main\SoftimageToDeadlineLogic.py" because a file or directory with the same name already exists. (System.IO.IOException)
# INFO : Script Logic File Not Found
Last edited by mirkoj on Fri Apr 28, 2017 1:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Return to “Thinkbox Software - Deadline”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest