C4D Black Frames

Discussion and Support of Deadline, the Render Management System
maximus01701
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:19 pm

C4D Black Frames

Postby maximus01701 » Wed May 10, 2017 2:13 pm

I have a user that when they submit a C4d job/task that it is rendering out black frames. However if he restarts his machine and submits the job again it renders fine. He is the only one doing c4d rendering so i'm not sure if it's local to his machine. I'm going to have him submit his job from a different box next time he needs to render something.

But in the meantime has anyone seen anything like this?

-Thanks,

eamsler
Posts: 1665
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: C4D Black Frames

Postby eamsler » Thu May 11, 2017 2:24 pm

Are they TIFFs?! If so, I've seen it and neither we nor Maxon have any idea how to reproduce the problem. I've been trying to figure it out for awhile, so any info you can give the better.

Also, the workaround is to disable "use batch mode", but the render'll run a bit slower.
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg

maximus01701
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:19 pm

Re: C4D Black Frames

Postby maximus01701 » Mon May 15, 2017 12:48 pm

Ok great. Thanks for the info.

I will have him try what you recommended as well as maybe swapping form TIFFs to PSDs or ENGs.

-Thanks,

eamsler
Posts: 1665
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: C4D Black Frames

Postby eamsler » Tue May 16, 2017 11:56 am

Oh, that's the weird part of it. In the cases I've seen so far, it looks like when PNG or another output type is chosen, Cinema starts writing out empty tiffs. I should have been specific before.

I'm still trying to find more data to send over to Maxon, so if your client has some time I'd like to sync up with them to run some more tests.
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg

StunTech
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2017 6:49 pm

Re: C4D Black Frames

Postby StunTech » Tue Sep 12, 2017 6:11 pm

I am having the same issue. Choose PNGs and Deadline renders out empty TIff files.

It happens very random and I cant pinpoint. I can tell by the finishing times if the frames are good or not. If the render in 30 seconds or less they are empty Tiff and show as complete.

eamsler
Posts: 1665
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: C4D Black Frames

Postby eamsler » Wed Sep 13, 2017 11:09 am

Actually, I think we pin pointed it back in July.

Essentially we were not using the correct information when you submitted multiple takes. We'd use the take info from whichever take had been highlighted instead of the takes that were selected. One workaround was to select each take and submit them one at a time, the other is to upgrade 9.0.5.0 or higher. I think the fix was "Deadline now defaults to the scene’s render data if no takes have render data assigned"
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg


Return to “Thinkbox Software - Deadline”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest