slaves stuck at 96%

Discussion and Support of Deadline, the Render Management System
xcaseyx
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 5:15 pm

slaves stuck at 96%

Postby xcaseyx » Tue May 16, 2017 6:17 pm

so with a fresh install of deadline 9.0.2.0 I have 2 machines running in license free mode.

after rendering a cinema 4d job, running cycles4d render engine command.exe (the c4d command line/batch module) isn't quitting. So every slave is stating that its at 96%. Even though the monitor AND the slave are reporting that the task was completed.

Any way to force that commandline .exe version to kill on complete?

I've seen the application hang after quitting with octane/redshift/cycles4d installed before.. but if there is a way to terminate the process post 'success' so that the queue doesn't get held up Id be thrilled.

eamsler
Posts: 1665
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: slaves stuck at 96%

Postby eamsler » Wed May 17, 2017 10:04 am

I think this may be a bug in our EndJob call that should be fixed in SP3 (which should hopefully be released soon). In the mean time, can you try disabling batch mode and using larger task sizes to work around the problem?

Also, I had no idea Cycles had a third party bridge in C4D. Between that and Rhino it looks like it's gaining a foothold (I'm a bit of a Blender fan here even if I can't use it well :D).
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg

xcaseyx
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 5:15 pm

Re: slaves stuck at 96%

Postby xcaseyx » Wed May 17, 2017 10:49 am

Ill give that a whirl. I already do framecount/2 for task size, so I Can't go much higher unfortunately.will report back!

xcaseyx
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 5:15 pm

Re: slaves stuck at 96%

Postby xcaseyx » Wed May 17, 2017 1:00 pm

not using batch didn't resolve it. doh.

xcaseyx
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 5:15 pm

Re: slaves stuck at 96%

Postby xcaseyx » Wed May 17, 2017 1:16 pm

would it be possible to create a script that terminates Commandline.exe after 'success' is scene? I assume thats what EndJob call would do though.

edit: just updated to 9.0.3.0 and issue still persists. Is there a beta of SP3 that I could nibble on and see if its in fact fixed?

eamsler
Posts: 1665
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: slaves stuck at 96%

Postby eamsler » Thu May 18, 2017 2:33 pm

Hmm. Could we have a call next week? I'm out tomorrow, but I'll be back on Monday. This seems like something we should try and figure out one on one.
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg

xcaseyx
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 5:15 pm

Re: slaves stuck at 96%

Postby xcaseyx » Fri May 19, 2017 1:34 pm

absolutely shoot me an email - this username at me dot com.

eamsler
Posts: 1665
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: slaves stuck at 96%

Postby eamsler » Mon May 22, 2017 12:35 pm

Alrighty. Made a ticket for this so we can schedule something.
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg


Return to “Thinkbox Software - Deadline”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bonsak and 1 guest