Tile Rendering with VRay and Maya

Discussion and Support of Deadline, the Render Management System
User avatar
TheScope
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:36 am
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Tile Rendering with VRay and Maya

Postby TheScope » Tue Jul 11, 2017 4:49 am

Hi, I am trying to get Tile Rendering to work correctly with V-Ray standalone and vrscene files exported from Maya.

Things that are not working correctly right now are:

1. If I do not enable "Override Resolution", the render will be black. The black frames do have the correct resolution. Enabling "Enable File Parsing" is not enough. When I enable "Override Resolution" it renders correctly.

2. The filename Deadline extracts with "Enable File Parsing" has a "_tmp" at the end of the filename. Apparently Vray for Maya adds a _tmp to the output filename in the vrscene file. When rendering with Vray standalone, this gets stripped. But when using "Tile Rendering", it gets used. It would be great if Deadline would strip this as well when rendering tiles.

3. Not all Render Elements get picked up by Deadline. In my testscene, only the Sample Rate element gets picked up by the vrayscene parser. Z-depth and Multi Matte get ignored. I did not test any other elements.

4. Even when animation is disabled in Maya, the filenames have a framenumber at the end. This framenumber is missing in the Draft assembly config file so the assembly job fails. When animation is enabled, even with just one frame, Deadline picks it up correctly.

Here are some screenshots of my settings.
RendersettingsCommon.JPG
RendersettingsCommon.JPG (75.43 KiB) Viewed 197 times

Deadline_VRayOptions.JPG
Deadline_VRayOptions.JPG (45.27 KiB) Viewed 197 times

Deadline_TileRendering.JPG
Deadline_TileRendering.JPG (47.39 KiB) Viewed 197 times


Please let me know if you want the Maya file, vrscene file, Draft config or if you need any other info. If you think that any of this is a bug on Chaosgroups side, please let me know so I can bring it up with them.

Specs
Maya 2017 Update 3
VRay 3.52.03
Deadline 9.0.5

Cheers, Florian
Florian von Behr
CG Supervisor
The Scope GmbH

eamsler
Posts: 1827
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: Tile Rendering with VRay and Maya

Postby eamsler » Tue Jul 11, 2017 9:41 am

The standalone V-Ray submitter has been fairly rough lately. I would very much appreciate the Maya scene and VRScene file so I can test and also pass along to the dev team to play with.
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg

User avatar
TheScope
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:36 am
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: Tile Rendering with VRay and Maya

Postby TheScope » Tue Jul 11, 2017 2:49 pm

Hey Edwin,
here is a ZIP file with the Maya scene and the vrscene file I exported from it.
Attachments
DeadlineTileRendering.zip
(7.49 MiB) Downloaded 11 times
Florian von Behr
CG Supervisor
The Scope GmbH

User avatar
TheScope
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:36 am
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: Tile Rendering with VRay and Maya

Postby TheScope » Mon Aug 07, 2017 4:01 am

Any news on this?
Florian von Behr
CG Supervisor
The Scope GmbH

eamsler
Posts: 1827
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: Tile Rendering with VRay and Maya

Postby eamsler » Mon Aug 07, 2017 9:17 am

There is! The good news is that last week we solved the blank frames and render elements issues. Those were merged in last week, so I would expect them in the next service pack of 9.0. It seems the channels we're now looking for are the following:

Code: Select all

"RenderChannelBumpNormals",
"RenderChannelColor",
"RenderChannelCoverage",
"RenderChannelDenoiser",
"RenderChannelDRBucket",
"RenderChannelExtraTex",
"RenderChannelGlossiness",
"RenderChannelMtlID",
"RenderChannelMultiMatte",
"RenderChannelNodeID",
"RenderChannelNormals",
"RenderChannelObjectSelect",
"RenderChannelRenderID",
"RenderChannelVelocity",
"RenderChannelZDepth"


I've followed up about the file naming issues you brought up, so we'll have to see what the integration team thinks about those ones.
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg

User avatar
TheScope
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:36 am
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: Tile Rendering with VRay and Maya

Postby TheScope » Mon Aug 07, 2017 10:01 am

Great! Thanks.
Florian von Behr
CG Supervisor
The Scope GmbH

User avatar
TheScope
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:36 am
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: Tile Rendering with VRay and Maya

Postby TheScope » Thu Sep 21, 2017 4:15 am

Hi there,
I have to bring this topic up again. I have been testing this feature with the latest Deadline 10 version.

Testing with a medium complexity production scene
When parsing the vrscene file, a large window that spans the whole screen pops up. No buttons are visible on screen. Pressing enter starts the render without assembly job. Jobs throws error "Error: illegal character in path. (System.ArgumentException)"
"Submit Dependent Assembly Job" is checked.

This is what the entry in the vrscene file for the output looks like:
img_file="TileRendering2_0001.exr";
img_dir="//SERVER/FOLDER/FOLDER/FOLDER/FOLDER/FOLDER/FOLDER/TileRendering2_0001/";


If I specify the output file, Deadline parses the render elements correctly and also submits all needed assembly jobs. After the render finishes, the assembly job does not start automatically even though all dependencies are fulfilled. When I start the assembly job manually, I get the following error message in the logs.

2017-09-21 09:59:00: 0: STDOUT: RuntimeError: exr_input_file Error: failed to open exr file //SERVER/FOLDER/FOLDER/FOLDER/FOLDER/FOLDER/FOLDER\_tile0_TileRendering2_0002.0001.exr

I did notice the \ just before the filename which might be causing this. In the render settings in Maya (and thus in the vrscene file), the output path is using / while Deadline (on Windows) uses \.

Testing with a low complexity test scene
If I test with a low complexity test scene (one light, one plane, one extra render element), I get the following error message when parsing the vrscene file:
"The vrscene file does not contain any output file name data and no overrides were set. Please resolve these issues and submit again."

If I set the output path manually, I get this error message:
"The vrscene file does not contain any output file resolution data and no resolution overrides were set. Please reolve these issues and submit again."

If I manually set the resolution as well, the render is submitted correctly along with the assembly job. Once the rendering has finished however, the assembly jobs do not start automatically.

Looking at the vrscene file I can find all the needed information like this:
SettingsOutput vraySettingsOutput {
img_width=3000;
img_height=2000;
img_pixelAspect=1;
img_file="TileRendering_0001.exr";
img_dir="//thescopefiles/Projects/17055_LNC_NAV_Campaign/3D/maya/Renderings/_Tests/";

So it looks like the vrscene parsing in Deadline is somehow still broken.

Maya 2017 Update 4
VRay 3.52.04
Deadline 10.0.3.2
All systems running on Windows 10

Please let me know if I can help in any way to resolve this.

Cheers, Florian
Attachments
ResultParseVRscene.JPG
ResultParseVRscene.JPG (93.05 KiB) Viewed 127 times
RenderSettingsMaya.JPG
RenderSettingsMaya.JPG (77.32 KiB) Viewed 127 times
Florian von Behr
CG Supervisor
The Scope GmbH

eamsler
Posts: 1827
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: Tile Rendering with VRay and Maya

Postby eamsler » Fri Sep 22, 2017 10:47 am

Okay! I've finally sat down and starting looking into this.

That giant text box is supposed to be showing a list of output file names, but it's returning text which means get_output_data_from_vrscene_file() in VrsceneUtils.py is having trouble. This is definitely going to need test data. If you could pass the tests over here it would be quick for me to test it out, but I'll run your previous scenes through to make sure they don't reproduce there.
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg

User avatar
TheScope
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:36 am
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: Tile Rendering with VRay and Maya

Postby TheScope » Mon Sep 25, 2017 3:11 am

Hi,
here is a test .vrscene file that produces the error.

Happy bug hunting.

Florian
Attachments
TileRendering2_0003.zip
(665.33 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
Florian von Behr
CG Supervisor
The Scope GmbH

eamsler
Posts: 1827
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: Tile Rendering with VRay and Maya

Postby eamsler » Mon Sep 25, 2017 2:02 pm

Got it! I had issues immediately, so I've passed it to the dev team as well. Thanks for the vrscene file!
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg


Return to “Thinkbox Software - Deadline”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests