Maya Batch plugin undesirable behavior

Discussion and Support of Deadline, the Render Management System
sdavy
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 6:49 pm

Maya Batch plugin undesirable behavior

Postby sdavy » Wed Jul 12, 2017 6:05 pm

I've just discovered some thoroughly undesirable behaviour with the Maya Batch Plugin.

As per the docs, this plugin prevents the scene file from reloading between chunks/packets. This is normally a good thing and saves on render time.

But, it should NOT prevent the same scene file from being sent to the farm with changes which are needed, under the same render job name.

It appears that even a newly submitted job using the Deadline shelf button in Maya, will reuse the scene file held in RAM by the render nodes. This is highly undesirable -- if I'm launching a new job with an updated file, then Deadline should treat that as a separate job event regardless of whether there is an existing job of the same name.

eamsler
Posts: 1672
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: Maya Batch plugin undesirable behavior

Postby eamsler » Thu Jul 13, 2017 3:03 pm

Well, the Slave will close and re-open Maya between jobs. I'm wondering if there was some caching issues here.

I've seen a problem where re-queuing a job had loaded the scene file, but I can't remember the exact steps to reproduce.

Just so I can re-test over here, can you go through the steps to reproduce? I'm assuming the scene file had the same name here.
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg

User avatar
MikeOwen
Posts: 3492
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 5:00 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Maya Batch plugin undesirable behavior

Postby MikeOwen » Thu Jul 13, 2017 5:33 pm

Just to eliminate the absolute obvious here...did you submit the Maya scene file with the job (submit scene file checkbox enabled) or is the multiple Maya jobs all referencing the same Maya scene file, stored on your network filer? (submit scene file checkbox disabled)
Mike Owen
Solutions Architect
Thinkbox / AWS

sdavy
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 6:49 pm

Re: Maya Batch plugin undesirable behavior

Postby sdavy » Wed Jul 19, 2017 1:15 pm

Sorry, just saw your replies (is there a way to get email notification of replies?).

I may actually have been mistaken about this behaviour (due to an output location error and the expectation that frames would be overwritten).

But, I'm curious that you say the slave should close and re-open Maya between jobs. Would this be the case even with new jobs submitted under the same job name as a currently rendering job. This might happen for example to render a patch of frames at the beginning of a sequence while the end of the sequence is still active in the original job.

eamsler
Posts: 1672
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: Maya Batch plugin undesirable behavior

Postby eamsler » Thu Jul 20, 2017 9:45 am

Just replying about the e-mails bit so as not to step on Mike. You can subscribe to a topic at the bottom of the thread:

2017-07-20 09_43_42-(17) Maya Batch plugin undesirable behavior - Thinkbox Software.png
2017-07-20 09_43_42-(17) Maya Batch plugin undesirable behavior - Thinkbox Software.png (11.99 KiB) Viewed 24 times


Or when starting a new thread:

2017-07-20 09_45_01-(8) Thinkbox Software - Post a new topic.png
2017-07-20 09_45_01-(8) Thinkbox Software - Post a new topic.png (3.78 KiB) Viewed 24 times
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg

User avatar
MikeOwen
Posts: 3492
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 5:00 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Maya Batch plugin undesirable behavior

Postby MikeOwen » Thu Jul 20, 2017 9:51 am

But, I'm curious that you say the slave should close and re-open Maya between jobs. Would this be the case even with new jobs submitted under the same job name as a currently rendering job.


Yes. As far as I know, all renderfarm dispatchers in the world work the same here. Just to be clear here, a job is a completely separate entity, which could be a different version of Maya loading a completely different scene file, perhaps from a completely different project.
Mike Owen
Solutions Architect
Thinkbox / AWS


Return to “Thinkbox Software - Deadline”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kwatts and 1 guest