Repo Access Required for Deadline 10 Installation

Discussion and Support of Deadline, the Render Management System
User avatar
im_thatoneguy
Posts: 1788
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 2:18 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Repo Access Required for Deadline 10 Installation

Postby im_thatoneguy » Fri Sep 08, 2017 7:19 pm

I don't know if this is a regression or not but when installing D10 Client you can't elevate the path to the repository. We run as an elevated service which can see the repository but the user account is not elevated. As a result the installer gives an error that the "Repository path doesn't exist" because it can't see it when installing.

It should blindly proceed optionally and then worry about repo pathing later when it tries to launch.
Gavin Greenwalt
Gavin[47]SFStudios.com
im.thatoneguy[47]gmail.com

eamsler
Posts: 1827
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: Repo Access Required for Deadline 10 Installation

Postby eamsler » Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:30 pm

Yeah, I've considered that for awhile. I'll see if I can dig up my issue for that one.

The issue is that when running an installer with UAC permissions, the admin account can't see any mapped drives. I usually just give it some dummy folder that exists, then change it later.
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg

User avatar
im_thatoneguy
Posts: 1788
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 2:18 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Repo Access Required for Deadline 10 Installation

Postby im_thatoneguy » Wed Sep 27, 2017 7:38 pm

Are "Dummy folders" still necessary to install or does the new service pack fix this?
Gavin Greenwalt
Gavin[47]SFStudios.com
im.thatoneguy[47]gmail.com


Return to “Thinkbox Software - Deadline”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests