Unreal 4 Render not forcing correct res

Discussion and Support of Deadline, the Render Management System
User avatar
Weedy
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 11:49 am
Location: Manchester, England

Unreal 4 Render not forcing correct res

Postby Weedy » Mon Sep 11, 2017 8:24 am

Hi,

We're testing out the Unreal 4 Engine to do some rendering on an upcoming project. I'm trying to render out a 4k image using the override options within Unreal but it's getting capped by the computer's monitor resolution. Is that behaviour I should expect or is there something I'm doing wrong?

Thanks

Nick
Technical Director
Studio Liddell

User avatar
Weedy
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 11:49 am
Location: Manchester, England

Re: Unreal 4 Render not forcing correct res

Postby Weedy » Mon Sep 11, 2017 8:37 am

Hi,

We worked it out. The command needs to have "-windowed" in it so that it doesn't snap to the screen resolution. Dunno if you could add this as the default or as an option in the submitter?

Thanks

Nick
Technical Director
Studio Liddell

eamsler
Posts: 1827
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: Unreal 4 Render not forcing correct res

Postby eamsler » Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:57 am

Hmm. I think we could just add it to this part of the plugin code?

Code: Select all

        if self.GetBooleanPluginInfoEntryWithDefault( "OverrideResolution", False ):
            xResolution = self.GetIntegerPluginInfoEntryWithDefault( "ResX", 1920 )
            yResolution = self.GetIntegerPluginInfoEntryWithDefault( "ResY", 1080 )       
            arguments.append( '-ResX={0}'.format( xResolution ) )
            arguments.append( '-ResY={0}'.format( yResolution ) )
            # My addition:
            arugments.append( '-windowed' )
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg

User avatar
Weedy
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 11:49 am
Location: Manchester, England

Re: Unreal 4 Render not forcing correct res

Postby Weedy » Mon Sep 11, 2017 11:21 am

Yeah I hacked it in like that! Although there's a spelling mistake in yours... ;)

Thanks

Nick
Technical Director
Studio Liddell

User avatar
Weedy
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 11:49 am
Location: Manchester, England

Re: Unreal 4 Render not forcing correct res

Postby Weedy » Tue Sep 12, 2017 9:57 am

Hi,

We've come across a few more challenges in our tests.

1. It seems like we can't access the "Overwrite Existing" option from the Render Movie Settings within Unreal Editor (see below). This means it creates Frame_1(1).jpg if we don't clear out the folder beforehand.

ffcooemkgdedidjf.png
ffcooemkgdedidjf.png (88.13 KiB) Viewed 78 times


2. We're getting no progress updates as it renders. I'm guessing nothing is exposed to you at the moment? Is there something we can add in or do to make this work? We're going to be exporting very large sequences (30-60 mins at a time) so we could really do with a progress update as it goes through.

Thanks

Nick
Technical Director
Studio Liddell

eamsler
Posts: 1827
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: Unreal 4 Render not forcing correct res

Postby eamsler » Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:44 am

I always get into the most heated of aroogments. :D

For the first, is there some flag we could make use of, or is it up to us to delete the output before it becomes a problem?

For the second, I'd need a job report. Can you send one along? Feel free to remove any file names, I'm just interested in seeing if there's any progress text we can go on here.
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg

User avatar
Weedy
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 11:49 am
Location: Manchester, England

Re: Unreal 4 Render not forcing correct res

Postby Weedy » Thu Sep 14, 2017 4:43 am

Hi Edwin,

I'm not sure on the flags, this is our first exploration into Unreal, it's a bit of different World! I don't think they expose an option for overwriting frames though so it is probably a case of having to delete the files first, I was wondering about the best way to handle this, whether we could run onjobstart script or something, or if you guys have a better way of handling that sort of thing?

The job report is empty, I think I'll have to work out if there's a way to get it to print or something, it's obviously got debug and logging options but how that works....

2017-09-12 19:50:57: 0: INFO: Full Command: "C:\Program Files\Epic Games\UE_4.17\Engine\Binaries\Win64\UE4Editor.exe" "***" "/Game/Maps/LVL_Main" -game -MovieSceneCaptureType="/Script/MovieSceneCapture.AutomatedLevelSequenceCapture" -windowed -LevelSequence="/Game/Sequences/SEQ_Cam_M" -NoLoadingScreen -MovieStartFrame=1 -MovieEndFrame=54000 -ForceRes -ResX=3840 -ResY=4320 -VSync -MovieFrameRate=30 -NoTextureStreaming -MovieFolder="T:\8k" -MovieName="8k_Test" -MovieFormat=JPG -MovieQuality=100 -MovieCinematicMode=Yes -MovieWarmUpFrames=5 -NoScreenMessages
2017-09-12 19:50:57: 0: INFO: Startup Directory: "C:\Program Files\Epic Games\UE_4.17\Engine\Binaries\Win64"
2017-09-12 19:50:57: 0: INFO: Process Priority: BelowNormal
2017-09-12 19:50:57: 0: INFO: Process Affinity: default
2017-09-12 19:50:57: 0: INFO: Process is now running
2017-09-13 01:05:21: 0: STDOUT: Unable to read VR Path Registry from C:\Users\render\AppData\Local\openvr\openvrpaths.vrpath
2017-09-13 01:05:21: 0: STDOUT: Unable to read VR Path Registry from C:\Users\render\AppData\Local\openvr\openvrpaths.vrpath
2017-09-13 01:05:22: 0: INFO: Process exit code: 0
2017-09-13 01:05:22: 0: Done executing plugin command of type 'Render Task'
2017-09-13 01:05:22: 0: Render time for frame(s): 5.240 hrs
2017-09-13 01:05:22: 0: Total time for task: 5.241 hrs
2017-09-13 01:05:22: 0: Saving task log...
Technical Director
Studio Liddell

eamsler
Posts: 1827
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: Unreal 4 Render not forcing correct res

Postby eamsler » Thu Sep 14, 2017 11:17 am

Hmm. Well, there was a time when Arnold wouldn't give frame output until we set it to full logging. 1.6GB logs per task, but we got our frame progress!

For the frame overwrite, we don't have handy tools here that come to mind. I'd use the OutputFilenameX and OutputDirectroyX so you selectively delete the right bits instead of blanket clear the output folder.
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg

User avatar
Weedy
Posts: 277
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 11:49 am
Location: Manchester, England

Re: Unreal 4 Render not forcing correct res

Postby Weedy » Thu Sep 14, 2017 2:18 pm

Thanks Edwin, I'll look into that. The sequences are so long we're going to be doing an initial local render of the frames followed by an ffmpeg job to convert it to a movie and putting it on the server. We'll probably put a script in to clear the whole folder so the hard drive is clear.

You can add a log argument to make it log to a separate window or a file, not sure if you guys could intercept that Although we also would have to put a print in the main blueprint of the file to log on every frame. My colleague suggested that a c++ plugin could be an option but that's beyond my capabilities!

Nick
Technical Director
Studio Liddell

eamsler
Posts: 1827
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: Unreal 4 Render not forcing correct res

Postby eamsler » Fri Sep 15, 2017 3:59 pm

Yeah, it sounds like we'll have to have enough people demanding better Unreal support before we can justify the add.

We can inspect output from a separate log though. We do that in "[repo]/plugins/VRaySpawner" in fact.

Would you be willing to throw an example log over? I don't have Unreal handy at the moment.
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg


Return to “Thinkbox Software - Deadline”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest