1 Slave not able to render through deadline 8 after upgrade to windows 10.

Discussion and Support of Deadline, the Render Management System
User avatar
Strob
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 10:14 am
Location: Laurentian mountains, Québec, Canada
Contact:

1 Slave not able to render through deadline 8 after upgrade to windows 10.

Postby Strob » Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:42 pm

deadline 8.0.17, max 2017 vray 3.40.03 win10

I have one slave that will always give error with deadline since I upgraded it to windows 10.

I get this error: Error: Renderer returned non-zero error code, 3. Check the log for more information.
at Deadline.Plugins.PluginWrapper.RenderTasks(String taskId, Int32 startFrame, Int32 endFrame, String& outMessage, AbortLevel& abortLevel)

In the log I find this: : Error launching "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 2017\3dsmax.exe" -server "-

2017-10-11 13:32:08: 0: STDOUT:
2017-10-11 13:32:08: 0: STDOUT: 10/11/2017 13:32:08 PM; Max install location: C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 2017\
2017-10-11 13:32:08: 0: STDOUT:
2017-10-11 13:32:08: 0: STDOUT: 10/11/2017 13:32:08 PM; Max executable: 3dsmax.exe
2017-10-11 13:32:08: 0: STDOUT:
2017-10-11 13:32:08: 0: STDOUT: 10/11/2017 13:32:08 PM; Max file being rendered: C:\Users\Strob\AppData\Local\Thinkbox\Deadline8\slave\anpanman\jobsData\59de2edc802a892a70d5a476\beach_waves_render.max
2017-10-11 13:32:08: 0: STDOUT:
2017-10-11 13:32:08: 0: STDOUT: 10/11/2017 13:32:08 PM; Renderer: V-Ray Adv 3.40.03
2017-10-11 13:32:08: 0: STDOUT:
2017-10-11 13:32:22: 0: STDOUT: 10/11/2017 13:32:22 PM; Error launching "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 2017\3dsmax.exe" -server "-_pipe:39628_105106937"
2017-10-11 13:32:22: 0: STDOUT:
2017-10-11 13:32:22: 0: STDOUT: 10/11/2017 13:32:22 PM; Error occured while rendering job.
2017-10-11 13:32:22: 0: STDOUT:
2017-10-11 13:32:22: 0: STDOUT:
2017-10-11 13:32:23: 0: INFO: Process exit code: 3
2017-10-11 13:32:23: 0: Done executing plugin command of type 'Render Task'

Any idea what could be causing this? I reinstalled deadline client on this slave but still getting the same error.

eamsler
Posts: 1830
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: 1 Slave not able to render through deadline 8 after upgrade to windows 10.

Postby eamsler » Fri Oct 13, 2017 10:09 am

I don't think I've ever seen us start up Max this way:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 2017\3dsmax.exe" -server "-_pipe:39628_105106937"


I also did a search over the Deadline Repository codebase and wasn't able to find it. Is this a custom plugin?

The error you're seeing is Max returning a non-zero exit code. It's not really doing anything else though... No errors, no nothing.
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg

User avatar
Strob
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 10:14 am
Location: Laurentian mountains, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: 1 Slave not able to render through deadline 8 after upgrade to windows 10.

Postby Strob » Sat Oct 14, 2017 3:43 pm

Hi Edwin!

No plugin. I just launched the job from the 3ds max top menu by using deadline cmd.

User avatar
MikeOwen
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 5:00 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: 1 Slave not able to render through deadline 8 after upgrade to windows 10.

Postby MikeOwen » Sun Oct 15, 2017 6:37 am

I've only seen this issue a few odd times in the last 10+ years. IIRC, the copy of 3dsMax on that machine has become corrupt. I think I just wiped the machine to fix this issue last time I saw it. You could try windows updates and re-installing all .NET redistributions needed for 3dsMax.
Mike Owen
Solutions Architect
Thinkbox / AWS

User avatar
Strob
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 10:14 am
Location: Laurentian mountains, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: 1 Slave not able to render through deadline 8 after upgrade to windows 10.

Postby Strob » Sun Oct 15, 2017 1:11 pm

Ok thanks I will try uninstalling and resintalling all .net.

User avatar
Strob
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 10:14 am
Location: Laurentian mountains, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: 1 Slave not able to render through deadline 8 after upgrade to windows 10.

Postby Strob » Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:27 am

I did a windows 10 reset (which uninstall every app) and I reinstall everything and then I was getting blue screen every time deadline tried to start a render on this machine.

I then did a real reinstall from scratch with drive formatting and now it works again!!! Took me 2 sleepless night and now a third sleepless night to deliver something but at least it works!

So avoid windows upgrade from 7 to 10, better do a clean install from the beginning.

eamsler
Posts: 1830
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: 1 Slave not able to render through deadline 8 after upgrade to windows 10.

Postby eamsler » Wed Oct 18, 2017 11:26 am

That's awfully painful... At least others will be able to learn from this.
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg

User avatar
Strob
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 10:14 am
Location: Laurentian mountains, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: 1 Slave not able to render through deadline 8 after upgrade to windows 10.

Postby Strob » Mon Oct 23, 2017 10:21 am

Finally the blue screens are back! I haveless blue screen while working but I have them when I start the slave.

Everytime I start deadline (which does not start by the launcher BTW but only by clicking the slave icon or the slave shortcut directly.) the slave will start and I can see the windows calling 3ds max, but I am getting a blue screen as soon as the slave stats loading 3ds max.

Rendering locally is fine.

that's the only of my 12 computers that does that. And the only difference is that I have many gpu on it and I had to set a special settings in the bios to be able to see above 4 gpu. It's called above 4G decoding in the pcie settings.

Do you know if deadline could have problems with that setting?

I think that setting must be set before installing the nvidia driver and if I change it the computer will not even boot anymore. Maybe I have to detach every gpu , change it and reinstall the driver before reconnecting them. I will try but may take some time.

eamsler
Posts: 1830
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 1:02 pm
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Re: 1 Slave not able to render through deadline 8 after upgrade to windows 10.

Postby eamsler » Wed Oct 25, 2017 12:49 pm

What is the blue screen report? I can't imagine the Slave is directly responsible (unless it's a Qt problem).

The logs might be helpful here as it's streamed out quickly. We can see if thy picked up a job before they died
Edwin Amsler
Head of Support
Thinkbox Software Inc
+1-866-419-0283 ext 804

Winnipeg


Return to “Thinkbox Software - Deadline”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: this.is.shaun and 2 guests