AWS Thinkbox Discussion Forums

My more powerful PC (the server) renders slower than old Slave ?

I’m less than a week into using Deadline, so I’m very new to it.

I have just two PCs (i.e 2 nodes) - an i9 (my main PC and what I use everyday) and a 3 year old i7 Slave that is switched on and used only to give a helping hand with rendering (3ds Max, gave up trying to use the included Backburner).

As I’m new to using Deadline, I tested things by submitting a simple animation of just 10 frames, and assigned both machines to help out.

What I noticed regarding render times was a bit disappointing - the 3 year old, i7 Slave was getting through renders slightly faster than the much higher spec’d i9 Server :open_mouth:

How could that possibly be ?

Furthermore, the i9 was not being very stressed…

What must I do to rectify this (control it even) ?

I seem to remember reading in the documentation that it is not recommended to include the machine which submits the job in the network of available nodes, but I can’t find it again.

I can’t be the only one who has just a couple of machines ?

Any guidance please ?

Thanks in anticipation.

How complex is the “simple animation of 10 frames”?

If a frame takes half a minute or just a few seconds to render, you don’t have enough time to load all CPUs with meaningful work, and a lot of the Task time ends up being management overhead. The first Tasks would also have to load 3ds Max (which can take several minutes), and load the scene and any assets (which is an I/O bound task, and usually not very CPU intensive). When rendering very fast frames, we generally recommend submitting with a larger Task Chunk Size, in your case a value of 10 would mean all 10 frames would be rendered in one go by one machine without any Deadline job/task management overhead in between.