AWS Thinkbox Discussion Forums

NOOB question - simple h.264 encoding

Hello everyone,

I’m fairly new to draft and thus I’d like to ask for a few pointers.

I need to create a template that’d take a resulting video file from a Deadline job using the implemented draft submitter (draft event plugin) and add a Timecode to it in the lower middle area of the video, then save it as the original to a different video, incl. the same compression, settings, everything.

In ffmpeg, I’d just copy the video and audio streams, I don’t need to dig through the source to figure everything out, I just need to draw the timecode and burn it into the video.

Could you please, tell me how to:

• get the source file from the submitter (the file name was submitted with the original job)
  • take the vid, decode it, burn-in the timecode and encode it to a copy of the source video

all this in a “recipe” template that will be submitted with the original job.

Thank you a ton in advance, I have gone through the documentation and samples, but they are mostly tied to a standalone draft installation/usage, which doesn’t cover the data mining from the Deadline submission.

Cheers,

loocas

Hi,
you can open the draft UI file and manually add data that you need to it and then apply it to your template.For example->

#adding your own variable.
args.append( “color_space_value=%s” % get_color_space)
#accessing it in draft template.
expectedTypes[‘color_space_value’]=’’
get_col_space=params[“color_space_value”]

As for centering it I think this might help->
forums.thinkboxsoftware.com/vie … 79&t=10657

Hope this helps.

Thanks kmind, I appretiate it.

Though I don’t need to add my own variables, I just need to source whatever the users provide during the initial submission.

The Draft integartion in many scripts requires the user to type in the output file name/path which Draft then should use to manipulate later when processing the rendered video file.