AWS Thinkbox Discussion Forums

Spherical panorama render?

Hello all,

I am new to Krakatoa MX and I have a question regarding the ‘krakatoa camera modifier’. We’re working with LiDAR scans (in LAZ/LAS format) and we would like to render spherical panorama’s of those point clouds. This should be doable (according to the online documentation) as there is the possibility to override the FoV to 360-degrees and set the lens type to fisheye. I tried rendering a panorama with the earlier described settings, but without success. I was expecting an equirectangular as an output but what I got looked very warped.

So my question is; is it possbile to render proper spherical 360 panorama’s with the krakatoa cam modifier?

Kind regards,

Ser Rick

Equirecrangular (lat-long) is not the same as 360 degrees fisheye spherical, so no surprise there.

We are adding to Krakatoa 3.0 Beta the ability to render both 6x1 / 12x1 cubic maps (the latter one for stereo), and to convert them into an Equirectangular map . The outputs match the results of V-Ray using the same settings. However, the Krakatoa Beta program launch is taking a bit longer than expected, so right now you cannot really access this functionality.

That being said, in the mean time you could create 6 90-degree FOV cameras from a single camera, render each one to a cubic view, and use a 3rd party application to build an Equirectangular panorama from them as a workaround…

Came here to inquire a similar situation - we would like to composite a Krakatoa point cloud with a vray render, stereo spherical.

I understand how I could do it mono spherical with 6 90deg cameras, would the same setup work if I used a stereo rig with an offset pair of cameras for each face of the cube?