Max fluid & prt issue...

Discussion and Support related to the Frost particle mesher
User avatar
Bobo
Posts: 6107
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 10:26 am
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Contact:

Re: Max fluid & prt issue...

Postby Bobo » Wed Oct 25, 2017 10:05 am

chris_img wrote:Now call me a paranoid max user but it looks like they got a maya guy to put bifrost into max!


You couldn't be farther from the truth.

The bug is partly my fault. Originally, Bifrost had a PRT v1.0 exporter shipping with Maya. PRT v1.0 did not support Metadata, so the particles would be written in the Maya space and required extra transforms if loaded into Max. I suggested to the Max dev. team they should switch to the PRT v1.1 format and set the Metadata for CoordSys to 1 (assuming incorrectly Bifrost uses Maya's coordinate system). This happened just days before 2018.3 went out, so I never got to actually test it. Looks like nobody else caught it either.

So apologies from me, on behalf of the Max developers. I will try to stop assuming things...
Borislav "Bobo" Petrov
Product Specialist
Thinkbox Software Inc.

chris_img
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 5:03 am

Re: Max fluid & prt issue...

Postby chris_img » Wed Oct 25, 2017 10:13 am

Forgiven!

you know, you could have blamed Trump and i would have belived you.


Return to “Thinkbox Software - Frost”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests