AWS Thinkbox Discussion Forums

2d Grid of Velocity Data to stoke field?

I’m very new to stoke and it’s initially a bit daunting. I need to be able to push around particles with data that I can format into something like a CSV sequence. The data in the CSV sequence won’t be moving. As in, it will have positional data that won’t move from the initial grid layout. But each grid element will have velocity vector information. Is this even possible with stoke? I could script up something that would turn this data into bitmaps along the lines of a pixel per grid data that r,g and b represent x,y and z.

I hope this makes sense.

Cheers,
Cg.

Hi Chris,

So you want the CSV to be the input of the grid, and then you push particles through it in 2D (no Z height)?
Sure, that should be rather easy, but it requires a Krakatoa PRT Loader.

• The CSV file should contain Position X,Y,Z and then Velocity X,Y,Z.
    The first line of the CSV should define the header, followed by any number of lines with 6 comma-separated values (but other separators are supported, too):

float32 Position[0], float32 Position[1], float32 Position[2], float16 Velocity[0], float16 Velocity[1], float16 Velocity[2] 9.72161, -63.355, 262.092, 23.2188, -68.25, 291.25
See thinkboxsoftware.com/krak-csv-file-format/ for details.

• Remember that the Velocity values are in units per second, not per frame or tick as elsewhere in 3ds Max.

• If you want, you can write a PRT file using the MAXScript I/O interface - it will be faster to read than a CSV file. If your grid will be made by MAXScript, I would recommend that approach.

• Next, create a PRT Loader and pick your CSV file.

• Set the PRT Loader to “Load Single Frame Only” and set the display to 100% to see all particles in the CSV grid.

• Now with the PRT Loader selected, go to the Stoke menu and create a Stoke Field Magma - it should be sized to the bounding box of the selected object.

• Open its Magma editor and create a Stoke > PVelocitySplat node.