AWS Thinkbox Discussion Forums

Alpha with X-Particles

Hello

I’m new to Krakatoa so forgive me if this seems obvious.

I’m generating particles using X-Particles. I have an image sequence which I’m using as a plate to emit from. In my emitter I have the ‘Emit Channel’ set to Alpha, so particles are only emitted from the white of the Alpha Channel and in my ‘Colour Channel’ I have the RGB of the plate.

Using the Krakatoa X-Particle Source I get what I expect, particles with the correct colours and emission only from the white areas of the plates alpha.

However once I partition out a sequence and load it back in with the Krakatoa PRT Loader, particles are emitted from the black areas of the plate, which is wrong. So the whole frame emits particles, these particles appear grey in colour.

In my X-Particles source I have:

Velocity/Age/Colour/ID/ Age/ Normal/ Transparency/ Birth Position

In my ‘Save Particles’ dialog in the render settings I have:

Position/Velocity/Colour/Density/ID/Normal/Emission/Age/TextureCoord/Birth Position

---- I just did another test and only selected Position/Velocity/Colour Float and I get the same results—

I have to admit I’ve enabled some channels I probably don’t need to try and figure out what is going on.

In my partitioning I have save multiple partitions selected- Total Partitions 10, sub range 1 to 2. Increment Emission Random seeds is checked.

I have a Channel Set tag on my PRT loader with a float value of 1 for the density, as I wasn’t getting any density information before this.

I’d be very grateful for any help with this.

Thanks
Stephen

Hi!

This is very strange, it sounds like the X-Particles starts ignoring the Alpha as soon as the scene is saved for Partitioning.
Normally, Krakatoa should be saving exactly what it is rendering (in other words, saving particles is a form of “rendering to disk”).
Btw, are you using the Render Queue or Deadline for Partitioning?