AWS Thinkbox Discussion Forums

Building a dynamic Task chunk-size

Hello, my brothers/sisters/others in arms of the well-documented Deadline-API,

I am writing to you because I have a dream.

I am pretty new to Deadline so I am looking for some ideas or hints to solve my idea:

A Job that dynamically changes the frames a task has to calculate when one node is done but others are still rendering.
E.g I have 5 slaves (everyone performing a task) which are rendering with a chunk-size of 5. Slave 1,2,3,4 are done. Slave 5 is still rendering at frame 21 due to the bad luck of some stuff that happens in the frames.
I want slave 1,2,3,4 to split the remaining 4 frames (22,23,24,25) between each other so the Job is done quicker. So the chunk-size kind of dynamically gets reduced.

I am thankful for any answer that might lead up some workflows and/or scripting ideas.

Whoever answers, feel kissed.

Yours,
Heinrich

1 Like

+1 for this idea, there’s quite a few issues with it though.

If you were rendering large frame ranges you’d have to calculate the number of available slaves/workers which of course could change while this is being calculated. 1000 frames / by 10 free nodes could be 100 free nodes in 5 more minutes, do you keep recalculating?

Also if the scene is very large it could impact the render times by pulling the scene over the network and loading it which could be longer than letting the loaded scene continue to render.

Ideally you’ll be submitting the job as a batch render and doing 1 frame at a time, or using something like V-Ray offload distributed rendering which does this kind of thing reducing bucket size as the image completes

If i understand you correctly, your idea is setting the chunk-size of a slave rendering a task to 1, offering a limited amount of slaves so it automatically keeps track of it?

yeeees and no… due to our internal workflow a chunk-size has a reason and I cant just change it to 1. As you said it should add a lot of network traffic.