AWS Thinkbox Discussion Forums

Deadline Error - 3ds Max Vray - Spawner executable does not exist

Hi Everyone,

I am new to deadline and have the following problem. The 3ds max and 3dsCmd plugin are not connected to the right vrayspawner path.

V-Ray DBR: V-Ray Spawner executable does not exist: C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 2022\vrayspawner2022.exe

My vray spawner is in a different folder: C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\ApplicationPlugins\VRay3dsMax2022\bin\vrayspawner2022.exe

I have added the right path in Configure Plugins - VraySpawner. However the 3ds max and 3dsCmd still seem to be linked to the wrong path. Where can I change this path?

Thanks!

Which version of Deadline are you using?

Have you modified the scripts to include 2022, as it’s not in there by default.

Add a 2022/2023 option to this file

…\DeadlineRepository10\plugins\VraySpawner\VraySpawner.param

Then refresh the scripts

Adjust the plugin location if needed

C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\ApplicationPlugins\VRay3dsMax2022\bin\vrayspawner2022.exe

1 Like

Hi there, reviving this thread as I have bumped on the same problem.

Running deadline 10.1.21.4 Release (690edd3fe)

Trying to prepare VraySpawner2022.exe setup, and have modified the VraySpawner.param file .

The new entry looks like this :

[VRaySpawnerExecutable_Max2022]
Type=multilinemultifilename
Label=3ds Max 2022 Spawner Executable
Category=V-Ray Spawner Executables for 3ds Max
CategoryOrder=0
CategoryIndex=7
Default=C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\ApplicationPlugins\VRay3dsMax2022\bin\vrayspawner2022.exe
Description=The path to the V-Ray Spawner executable file for 3ds Max 2022. Enter alternative paths on separate lines.

Ran the Synchronize Monitor Scripts & Plugins too , and if I look into the Configure Plugins/VraySpawner it seems that the param modification has been applied ( see screenshot)

However in the Vray Spanwer Submitter from within deadline the changes do not apply.

Is the perhaps the old way to submit VraySpawner jobs anymore?