AWS Thinkbox Discussion Forums

Frost to Stoke

(Perhaps there should be a stoke category??)

I am new to all of this. So please bear with me…

I have a couple of PRT Loaders that I got going into Frost to create a mesh from RealFlow particles. Now I would like to convert that mesh into a bunch of particles and render it Krakatoa style (as a bunch of little particles rather than as a mesh). I would like those particles to have some additional fluid turbulence beyond simply converting the Frost into a PRTVolume and rendering that in Krakatoa.

I can get Stoke to create particles within the volume of the Frost object. I am using the Frost object directly as the Distribution source for Stoke (I was initially using my PRTVolume made from the Frost object).

However, these particles Stoke is making do not have any of the original velocity from the RealFlow particles. I can get them to move with the Wind Space Warp I am using as the velocity field, though.

Oh, now I am thinking out loud. Do I need to also add another velocity field that is PRT Loaders (which loaded the original RF particles)??

Any thoughts on achieving this? Imagine RealFlow as Krakatoa particles, with little fluid dynamics trubulence coming off them on the edges…

Thanks.

It seems that Adding the PRTLoaders (loading the RF particles) worked real well to pick up the velocities.

Simulating just seems to take a while… Even 100 particles per frame is not much slower than 1000…

Just wondering how to best optimize that… Oh, perhaps it is Frost that is taking so long… I bet I could lower my Frost quality settings for use with Stoke vs. for rendering a mesh… likely by a lot!

Good thinking!