AWS Thinkbox Discussion Forums

Mongodump syntax help

Hello, recently installed Deadline 10.1.9.2 on an OSX server. It is working great. Was preparing to make a database backup but am having trouble connecting to mongoDB via mongodump or even mongo shell.

I used defaults for the installer, but used port 27192 and enabled SSL / TLS with client certificate.

Following this blogpost: https://www.awsthinkbox.com/blog/deadline-database-backup-strategy

This syntax failed with the error “no reachable servers”:
./mongodump -d DATABASE_NAME -o PATH_TO_BACKUP_FOLDER /
./mongodump -d deadline10db -o ~/backupfolder

I’m new to MongoDB but figured it was due to SSL being enabled so I tried this:
./mongodump --host 127.0.0.1:27192 --db deadline10db --ssl --sslCAFile /Applications/Thinkbox/DeadlineDatabase10/certs/ca.crt --sslPEMKeyFile /Applications/Thinkbox/DeadlineDatabase10/certs/hostname.local.pem --sslAllowInvalidHostnames --out ~/mongodump

This failed as well.

What’s the proper syntax for doing a mongodump on a deadline server with ssl / tsl enabled?

Thanks!

The sample syntax I refer to for OSX is below:

/Applications/DeadlineDatabase10/mongo/application/bin/mongodump /host:[hostname] /port:27100 /db:deadline10db /ssl /sslPEMKeyFile:"/Applications/DeadlineDatabase10/certs/mongo_client.pem" /sslCAFile:"/Applications/DeadlineDatabase10/certs/ca.crt" /authenticationDatabase:"$external" /authenticationMechanism:"MONGODB-X509" /username:"OU=Deadline10Client,O=Deadline10Installer,CN=Deadline10Client"

Looking at differences, my version passes the port as its own flag, and uses the hostname instead of the loopback address. It also includes the username credentials.

Try using that syntax sample and let us know!

Thanks for the reply! With your exact syntax get a “positional arguments not allowed”. I think the syntax there is not valid. I modified it to work here: