AWS Thinkbox Discussion Forums

Need Help with AWS cloud rendering

Hello Deadline!

Im a 3d artist who wishes to use cloud rendering, after using deadline for years to manage renderjobs on two local machines. Ive purchased 50 dollars worth of maya and redshift credits to test for now however (after over 24 hours of trying(and counting)) i cant seem to get this working. I am currently at the state of trying to connect to a remote connection server. I entered in my IP address and the port number shown in the tutorials. i get the error “select a valid Repository or Connection Server to use.” Im starting to think my brain doesnt function at the level required to follow the tutorials ive found on youtube.
Is it possible for an artist to use deadline for cloud rendering on his own?
Is it possible to speak on the phone with someone who can walk me through this?

Thanks for your time.

Mike

You’re not alone Mike, I’m having almost the same issue. but in my case my machines are seeing each other through the HTTP connection but it gives me an error. I’ve posted my issue over here:

I hope someone will be able to help us on this topic as I cannot find on the internet anything with easy instructions for RCS.

I was able to find another tutorial on a blog. It had added step to run this program deadlinercs.exe. After running it i can connect.

Great!

Okay but now more problems:

-asset server cant find my nas ( or i have failed to point it correctly)
-when i create an infrastructure my aws portal link goes offline.

Perhaps before I go on i should ask. Am i able to do cloud computing as a person who uses liscence free mode? I was using deadline for free because it was only on one computer but if im renting rendernodes through aws do i also have to buy deadline?

please thanks for your time

Hello!

I’ve gotten back to you on your Asset Server + NAS issue in this thread.