AWS Thinkbox Discussion Forums

Object Point CLoud

Hi guys
I’m new to Krakatoa but have been doing some experimenting and I love it!
I’ve had some really nice results using partitions with xparticles sims controlled by TFD fluid.
There’s one thing I don’t really understand though - I think I might just be being thick.
In what practical situation might you use a PRT volume? Sinse you’re not able to manipulate Krakatoa particles with forces or effectors, I don’t see the point of using them - why not just render the orginal mesh with materials? Am I being really stupid and missing something here?
B

This is a pretty good question actually :slight_smile:
And there is no clear answer, but I will try my best:

First of all, a PRT Volume is a great tool to use while learning Krakatoa. Pick a mesh, make a PRT Volume, hit render, you get your millions of particles in nearly no time.

Second, there are cases where you are rendering a scene where an object made of particles makes more sense (integration-wise) than rendering the surface of the same object in another renderer. PRT Volume “steals” all the relevant channels including normals, mapping coordinates and even generates Velocity from the deformations, and then interacts with light the same way all other particle systems do. So you can have an object that looks like your mesh, but renders like your particles with all the light attenuation, shadow casting and receiving with other particles etc. Esp. in Krakatoa C4D where shadow casting from particles into meshes is not resolved yet, this can be very useful.

Third, the PRT Volume IS somewhat animatable. You cannot perform dynamic simulations like with TP or XP, but you can have animated meshes turned into animated point clouds. Or you could keyframe the Shell parameters to produce some kinds of animated reveals and solidification effects…