AWS Thinkbox Discussion Forums

Possible to modify the draft submission ui to add some bits?

Heya Folks,

I’m not an amazing coder by any means but I can fiddle my way around scripts to an extent. Just curious if it’d be possible to add in some extra commands into the submission ui that are taken care of by settings in the templates? We’re using draft to replace a previous quicktime creator that we had custom written and draft does pretty much the lot save for having the frame rate, lut and a few extra text boxes for notes and so on exposed. I know they’re available in the templates but it’d make things handier for the producers in here to be able to do that via ui rather than anyone having to make a new template.

Is the submission script ui available in a human readable format that I’d be able to tinker with to get the above behaving or is it more in depth than that?

Cheers!

John

Hi John!

That depends… do you consider python scripts human readable? (I do, but I know lots of folks who don’t. :wink: ) You can find the script that creates the submission dialog in YourDeadlineRepository/scripts/Jobs/DraftSubmission.py. (Or YourDeadlineRepository/scripts/Submission/DraftSubmission.py for submission using Shotgun, I believe.)

You add the controls in main, and the arguments are processed in SubmitButtonPressed. Any additional parameters you add there can then be read from the parameter dictionary the same way the existing parameters are. If you have any specific questions about the script after having a look around, let me know!

Note: Also check out the documentation on this page: http://www.thinkboxsoftware.com/draft-custom-args-recipe/

Cheers,
Andrea