AWS Thinkbox Discussion Forums

Realflow prt export and Partitioning problem.

Hi all,

I hope someone can help me out with this as it’s driving me insane.

Firstly I would like to say that I am a complete novice when it comes to C4D (I’m a Lightwave User), I have access to C4D through work, and am using the trial to test out Krakatoa with fluid sims from Realflow as it’s the most cost/time effective way of doing things (the speed of Krakatoa is mindblowing).

I would imagine I will have a lot of questions as I have already come up against some issues that I can’t seem to get my head around, but I’ll limit this post to a single question :slight_smile:

I have my fluid sim (exported from Realflow as a prt sequence) imported using the PRT loader, and everything is fine and dandy so far, but I need to be able to partition the particles to add more. I’ve followed (I think) the correct steps to set up Krakatoa to do the partitioning, but when I send the scene(s) (there are 10 partitions) to the render queue and start to render out the particles, I get an error stating that the Velocity channel doesn’t exist.

I have double checked Realflow and the velocity channel is being exported, and when I use the ‘Channel Copy’ Tag and copy the Velocity channel to the Colour channel, it works fine both in the viewport and when rendering, so I am at a loss as to what’s happening.

I’m attaching a screengrab of what I believe to be all the important settings etc. to see if anyone can shed any light on the matter.

Thanks in advance
TheMightySpud

Hi there! I’m not entirely sure why that error message is appearing. I don’t get that error message when following the same steps you provided. If you can give me a sample file, I could debug what is happening.