AWS Thinkbox Discussion Forums

Web Service: Root Location Not Default

Firstly, I’d like to apologize for my lack of knowledge upfront. I am an artist for a very small company that is stumbling my way through all of this.

I am trying to set up the Web Service functionality for our Deadline, for another artist and I have been stumped almost at the very start. Our deadline is not installed in the default location, and when I try to start the web service exe, it gives me an error that it cannot find the things it needs because it’s not in the default location! Anyway I can tell it to look where we do have it installed? Thanks in advance!

LaJolly,

Someone please chime in and correct me if I am wrong, but sounds to me like you possibly have a borked DEADLINE_PATH environment variable?

Within command prompt on Windows run the command ‘set’
This will dump all system and user environment variables.

The default deadline path should be:
DEADLINE_PATH=C:\Program Files\Thinkbox\Deadline10\bin

All thinkboxes executables live there. Something else you should try is to cd to that directory, and run deadline webservice from there, it should give you more output as to what the error could be. Posting the specific output or error youre getting would be helpful for thinkbox to debug.

Also do not forget about the windows namespace reservations referred to here:
https://docs.thinkboxsoftware.com/products/deadline/10.0/1_User%20Manual/manual/web-service.html

“It is recommended to use a server based Windows OS such as Windows 2003, 2008 R2, 2012 or newer.”

For this reason I prefer to run the deadline webservice from a linux based server. But a server OS in general will handle more concurrent connections than running it from a client OS. Hope this helps!

Cheers
Dan

1 Like

Hey, thank you so much for your reply! I’ve got it all set up and it’s working, wow! :smiley:

Hmmm… DEADLINE_PATH should only be needed for the submitters, but that’s an excellent reply Dan. Thanks for that!