AWS Thinkbox Discussion Forums

Submit Job with Opt-In event

Hi I’m very new in scripting deadline and needs some help.

1. I made an event with OnJobSubmitted() and want to submit a job to have this event opt-in.
    How can I do that?
    Should I just set the event’s name in Job Info file (.job) like this when I create the job?
    I read this document but still not sure.
    Manual Job Submission — Deadline 10.1.23.6 documentation

EventOptIns="MyEvent"

1. I set my event’s .param file like this to set the event to be run only at opt-in job. Is this right?

[State]
Type=Enum
Items=Global Disabled;Opt-In;Enabled

1. How can I edit the Task’s Environment Variables or detailed info?
    I want to add one more key:value on task’s env but can’t find how to do that.

Thank you

Hello,

1. I believe that any job that is submitted will trigger the event plugin.
    Event Plugins — Deadline 10.2.1.1 documentation
    and
    How to use opt-in event?

2. An example .param file is shown in the above URL, but in general the State property should look more like this:

[State]
Type=Enum
Items=Global Enabled;Opt-In;Disabled
Category=Options
CategoryOrder=0
CategoryIndex=0
Label=State
Default=Opt-In
Description=How this event plug-in should respond to events. If Global, all jobs and Workers will trigger the events for this plugin. If Opt-In, jobs and Workers can choose to trigger the events for this plugin. If Disabled, no events are triggered for this plugin.

I think looking at some example code to be extremely helpful:

1. From another thread, Justin B suggested: Setting worker process environment variables from event plugin - #7 by Justin_B

hope this helps

1 Like

Thank you for the kindest reply!
All your answers were really helpful.

I have one more question.
I want to trigger the event only when I selected a specific job that needs to do it, not in all jobs.
This is a huge problem on my event.