AWS Thinkbox Discussion Forums

Unexpected exception (Monitored managed process "3dsmaxProcess" has exited or been terminated

I am using
MAX 2024 2024.1 update 26.1.0.2270
Deadline 10.3.0.13
Corona 10 hotfix 1

I have been using custom submission scripts since max 2016 and 2019 is our current production version with deadline and corona. Everything works correctly with 2019 with no issues and has for several years.

We would like to switch to 2024 but not until it can be verified that it works with my scripts.

I submitted a simple cube to deadline with 2019 and everything works correctly. With 2024 I do get an error. It seems it will not save the image I am trying to render. The cube has an unwrap on it. If I doownload the max file and rendering script and run them locally, everything is good but not when the worker picks up the submission, there is an error. I do not see anything obvious in the logs. attached is my max log and deadline log

Max.log.zip (9.9 KB)
Deadline log.zip (166 Bytes)

The file in Deadline log.zip is empty, so I can’t say what might be going wrong.

All we know from Unexpected exception (Monitored managed process "3dsmaxProcess" has exited or been terminated is that Max has quit and we didn’t tell it to. Usually that’s a crash, but not always.

Re-upload that Deadline log and we’ll get this figured out.

@Justin_B sorry about that. What I’m trying to determine is if it’s a max problem or a corona problem.
Deadline log.zip (10.9 KB)

No worries!

There’s no clues I can find in this render log, no warnings, exceptions or other typical signs of trouble.

I want to say it’s a Corona issue, just because the crash happens as Corona triggers cleanup (line 505):

2023/11/21 16:56:29 INF: [20184] [24200] CORONA : Pass 59/60
2023/11/21 16:56:29 INF: [20184] [24200] CORONA : Denoising
2023/11/21 16:56:29 INF: [20184] [24200] CORONA : Cleaning up